Overcast

Overcast

max temp: 12°C

min temp: 11°C

Search

Ipswich Waterstones’ 13 books you need to read this summer

PUBLISHED: 13:12 03 August 2017 | UPDATED: 13:26 03 August 2017

Bookseller Meg Burrows from Ipswich Waterstones has shared her top 13 summer reads

Bookseller Meg Burrows from Ipswich Waterstones has shared her top 13 summer reads

Archant

From crime thrillers and beach reads to travel memoirs and non-fiction – bookseller Meg Burrows from Ipswich Waterstones has put together a handy list of 13 books you need to read this summer.

The Dry by Jane Harper The Dry by Jane Harper

The Dry – Jane Harper

“A fantastic thriller, set in the small Australian territory of Kiewarra, The Dry revolves around the sudden murder of three members of the Hadler Family.

“The small community is quick to place the blame on the father, Luke Hadler, but is he an easy scapegoat for something more sinister?”

Perfect for fans of David Baldacci, Ian Rankin, Peter James and Laura McBride.

The Adversary by Emmanuel Carrere The Adversary by Emmanuel Carrere

The Adversary - Emmanuel Carrere

“A master of psychological suspense, Carrere explores the double life of a respectable doctor, eighteen years of lies, five murders and the extremes to which ordinary people can go.

“A great mix of true crime and literature, this non-fiction is one to read this summer.”

Perfect for fans of true crime, psychoanalytical, dystopian and non-fiction.

Hot Milk by Deborah Levy Hot Milk by Deborah Levy

Hot Milk – Deborah Levy

“A recent one that we explored in book club, this is a brilliant read for the summer reminiscent of Robert Seethaler’s writing style.

“This is a compelling story about parent and child dynamics, the restrictions and freedoms we give ourselves and the fragile threads that hold us, as humans, together – it’s very current for the time we live in, beautifully written, very vivid and exploratory.”

Perfect for fans of Elizabeth Strout, Rose Tremain and Robert Seethaler.

This Must Be the Place by Maggie O'Farrell This Must Be the Place by Maggie O'Farrell

This Must Be the Place - Maggie O’ Farrell

“Maggie O’ Farrell is a fantastic writer, you will read her with ease and enjoyment, as well as being shortlisted for the Costa Book Award 2016, this tour de force title will keep you engaged and intrigued.

“Follow Dan Sullivan, a New Yorker living in the depths of Ireland, as he re-visits an old flame which turns his life upside down.”

Perfect for fans of Jane Green, JoJo Moyes and Dinah Jefferies.

Before the Rain by Dinah Jeffries Before the Rain by Dinah Jeffries

Before the Rains – Dinah Jefferies

“From the author of The Tea Planter’s Wife comes another great novel.

“Also a book club author, Jefferies will transport you on holiday into 1930s India with evocative imagery and beautiful description.”

Perfect for fans of Lucinda Riley and Victoria Hislop.

Set Free by Emma Slade Set Free by Emma Slade

Set Free - Emma Slade

“A perfect non-fiction to highlight the fast pace of western life.

“From banking, to Buddhism in Bhutan. Emma Slade writes a personal account of her life as a high powered business woman, who, due to circumstances, drastically turns her life around.”

Perfect for fans of memoir, travel and philosophy.

Walking the Himalayas by Levison Wood Walking the Himalayas by Levison Wood

Walking the Himalayas - Levison Wood

“The latest book from the brilliant globe-trekking Levison Wood ( Channel 4 documentaries), I found this after I came back from travels and loved it!

“Follow Lev as he ventures across the Himalayas, encountering memorable people, towns and situations.”

Perfect for fans of Michael Palin, Bear Grylls, travel, memoir and history.

The Last Person To Call Me Sweet Pea Ended Up Dead by C J Skuse The Last Person To Call Me Sweet Pea Ended Up Dead by C J Skuse

The Last Person to call me Sweet Pea ended up Dead - CJ Skuse

“A gripping, intelligent, gritty psychological thriller following Rhiannon, your average girl...who has a kill list.

“Highly rated on Goodreads too.”

Perfect for fans of Paula Hawkins, Michelle Frances and JS Monroe.

The Tobacconist by Robert Seethaler The Tobacconist by Robert Seethaler

The Tobacconist - Robert Seethaler

“I can say with conviction that Seethaler is one of the best writers I’ve discovered in the last two years.

“Another book club choice, this author encompasses so much in a short space – poignant, prominent, permanently in your head after you’ve read it, with stark, stunning imagery, it’s a beautifully written coming of age story following young Franz on the brink of the Second World War.”

Perfect for fans of Elizabeth Strout, Sebastian Faulks, Robert Frost and Ernest Hemingway.

Nobody Told Me by Hollie McNish Nobody Told Me by Hollie McNish

Nobody Told Me - Hollie McNish

“Fancy some down to earth, witty, warm poetry? I give you Hollie McNish, a wonderfully honest poet who remembers her roots but explores universal subjects on a personal, accessible level.

“This part diary part poetry book will have you in tears, while her most recent publication, PLUM, is equally brilliant.”

Perfect for fans of Victoria Wood, Pam Ayres and Kate Tempest.

The Rosie Project by Graeme Simison The Rosie Project by Graeme Simison

The Rosie Project - Graeme Simsion

“A book I have been waiting to read for a long time, this certainly didn’t disappoint.

“It’s endearing, funny, well written, intuitive and has fantastic character – in fact, I found myself laughing out loud on numerous occasions. Quite simply, read this in the sunshine.”

Perfect for fans of Rachel Joyce, JoJo Moyes and Audrey Niffenegger.

Birdcage Walk by Helen Dunmore Birdcage Walk by Helen Dunmore

Birdcage Walk - Helen Dunmore

“1792 and Europe is seized by political turmoil and violence. Lizzie Fawkes has grown up in radical circles where each step of the French Revolution is followed with eager idealism.

“But she has recently married John Diner Tredevant, a property developer who is heavily invested in Bristol’s housing boom, and he has everything to lose from social upheaval and the prospect of war.”

Perfect for fans of historical fiction with a slight thriller twist, Dinah Jefferies, Toni Morrison, Philippa Gregory and Bernard Cornwell.

The Waterstones store in Ipswich has a host of activities lined up. Picture: JASON NOBLE The Waterstones store in Ipswich has a host of activities lined up. Picture: JASON NOBLE

Italian Holiday - Maeve Haran

“Escape to southern Italy in this idyllic novel where four unlikely women strike up a frank, funny friendship while escaping their daily worries.

“A sunny, entertaining read. “

Perfect for fans of Victoria Hislop, Paige Toon and Dinah Jefferies.

The Ipswich Waterstones store has a host of fun events lined up in August and September – kicking off with the Phillip Pullman event on August 31 from 6.30pm, celebrating the His Dark materials trilogy ahead of the release of his new instalment in the series, La Belle sauvage.

On September 16 the store will be celebrating all things Roald Dahl with its Dahl Day, before the store’s monthly book club returns from the summer break on September 25.

New members are welcome to the free book club, which for September will feature a discussion on people’s summer reading choices and Man Booker Prize nominees/

On September 30, author Melita Thomas will be in store discussing her book The King’s Pearl.

Minnie Moll, joint chief executive of the East of England Co-op, is one of the region’s most influential business leaders. As she is named as the new ambassador of sexual abuse charity Fresh Start – New Beginnings, she reveals her own story of childhood abuse, in her own words:

Two teenagers waved to passengers on a rail platform as they clung on to a train underneath overhead electricity cables in Essex, a court heard.

Fresh Start – New Beginnings has announced East of England Co-op joint chief executive Minnie Moll as their new ambassador.

Survivors of historic child sex abuse will be believed and listened to, a senior Suffolk detective has said as new data shows more people than ever before are coming forward.

A Suffolk Spitfire veteran has celebrated reaching his 101st birthday.

Over 70 MP’s have accused Theresa May of failing to intervene in the extradition case of a man from Newmarket.

An Ipswich primary school embarked on a world first video project yesterday, as pupils began filming for a virtual reality guided tour of the school.

A former East Anglian Daily Times journalist who in a long career also worked widely in Africa, New York and London has died at the age of 88.

We have had a mild but damp start to the week in Suffolk and north Essex with temperatures set to get cooler - but will we see any snow?

A man has been taken to hospital following a collision involving two lorries on the A14 in Felixstowe earlier today.

Most read

Show Job Lists

Topic pages

Newsletter Sign Up

Sign up to receive our regular email newsletter
MyDate24 MyPhotos24