Newmarket

Newmarket is famed across the world as the home of horse racing.

The Suffolk town’s two state-of-the-art courses, the Rowley Mile and the July Course, host some of the planet’s best race meetings every year from April to November.

And this year, for the first time ever, racing editor Terry Redhead will be bringing you full previews and reports from all the meetings at racing’s headquarters.

If you have a Newmarket story, email us and let us know.

Newmarket news

Zamoura ridden by Nicky Mackay (right) goes on to win the SIS Fillies' Stakes

Gallery: Godolphin grabs the glory at Chelmsford City Racecourse

Chelmsford City racecourse opened its gates today, returning racing to Essex for the first time since Great Leighs closed in 2009.

Read full story »

Tempus Temporis (USA) ridden by Robert Havlin at the first day of racing at Chelmsford City Racecourse

Video/Gallery: Racing returned to Essex as the inaugural race took place at Chelmsford City Racecourse

It has been dogged by financial and regulatory problems from the start, fell at the first hurdle back in 2008 and has changed owners more than once, but today racing at Chelmsford City Racecourse got off to a flying start.

Read full story »

The skeleton of an unknown horse that could be legendary stallion Doctor Syntax, or owned by the royals.

Mystery horse skeleton found at Newmarket’s King Charles II Palace stables ‘could be’ racehorse legend Doctor Syntax or of royal stock

An expert believes contractors may have unearthed a legendary racehorse during excavations for a major new tourist attraction in Newmarket.

Read full story »

Newmarket Nights

Helen Macdonald at the 2015 Costa Book Awards at Quaglino's, London. PRESS ASSOCIATION Photo.

Suffolk author Helen Macdonald wins Costa Prize

Helen Macdonald has won this year’s Costa Prize for her memoir H Is For Hawk.

Read full story »

Newmarket Racecourses

Horse Racing

Newmarket is widely known as the headquarters of British horseracing and as well as the racecourses, the town is also home to the National Stud, Tattersalls, the National Horseracing Museum and a large cluster of training yards.

The town’s racing history dates back to the 17th century and it still plays an important part in British racing, hosting nine of the 32 annual Group 1 races.

Newmarket comprises two wide, galloping courses – the Rowley mile Course and the July Course – both of which are only used for flat races.

The Rowley Mile Course

Horse Racing

This course is used during the spring and autumn months. It has a grass strip that was previously used by the RAF and now used by light aircraft.

Towards the end of the course, there is a downhill section before the final uphill furlong, a section known as ‘The Dip’. Two of the country’s five classic races – the 1,000 Guineas and the 2,00 Guineas – are run on the Rowley Mile Course.

The July Course

Horse Racing

As the name suggests, this course is used for summer meetings. It has a one-mile straight, known as the Bunbury Mile, there is then a long downhill section followed by an uphill furlong towards the finish line.

The course can be extended by using the Cesarewitch/Beacon course.

The July Course actually sits over the border in Cambridgeshire.

Fixtures

Spring at the Rowley Mile

Craven Meeting
Wednesday, April 16. Thursday, April 17
QIPCO Guineas Festival
Saturday, May 3. Sunday, May 4
Spring Weekend
Thursday, May 15 (evening). Friday, May 16. Saturday, May 17

Summer at the July Course

Opening
Friday, May 30. Saturday, May 31
Adnams Newmarket Nights and Summer Saturday's
Friday, June 20 (eve). Saturday, June 21
Friday, June 27 (eve). Saturday, June 28
Friday, July 18 (eve). Saturday, July 19
Friday, July 25 (eve). Saturday, July 26
Friday, August 1 (eve). Saturday, August 2
Friday, August 8 (eve). Saturday, August 9
Thursday, August 14. Friday August 15 (eve). Saturday, August 16
July Festival
Thursday, July 10 Ladies day
Friday, July 11 Gentlemen's day
Saturday, July 12 July Cup day
Closing of the July Course
Friday, August 22. Saturday, August 23

ADVERTISEMENT

ADVERTISEMENT

loading...
iwitness24 Your news is our news Facebook Like your local paper Twitter Join the conversation Ipswich Borough Council

ADVERTISEMENT

ADVERTISEMENT