Overcast

Overcast

max temp: 19°C

min temp: 15°C

Search

Art & books

Monday, August 14, 2017

A tattoo artist who plans to set up the first parlour in Ed Sheeran’s home town said he hoped the singer might “pop in to say hello”.

A retired agricultural engineer has discovered his inner artist at the age of 88.

A sculptor’s ceremonial farewell to the Suffolk landscape that “fed his imagination for 15 years” has come back to haunt him – after it was mistaken for a body in the water.

A summer holiday craze has brought visitors flocking to the Suffolk seaside, transforming beaches into a huge collaborative art exhibition.

A Suffolk artist’s “love for the absurd beauty of the nude form” has given a revealing perspective on some of the county’s best loved towns.

From crime thrillers and beach reads to travel memoirs and non-fiction – bookseller Meg Burrows from Ipswich Waterstones has put together a handy list of 13 books you need to read this summer.

Each summer The Suffolk Craft Society stages a showcase of homegrown talent with their annual exhibition in Aldeburgh. Arts editor Andrew Clarke is dazzled by a show that demonstrates that craft is also art.

A renowned wildlife artist will be exhibiting his latest work at the Suffolk nature reserve that has inspired many of his paintings.

Sudbury’s famous son ‘would be dynamite in polite society today’. James Hamilton’s new biography is a colourful read

Do you love Pride and Prejudice, or Emma? On the 200th anniversary of Jane Austen’s death, we ask why she’s often lauded as Britain’s favourite novelist

Giles − who gave us tetchy Grandma, grim-faced teacher Chalkie and other characters − was a complex man, according to a new book. Steven Russell reports

Fans of Mumford and Sons know what to expect from their gigs. In fact, there’s not a music lover out there that won’t know the British band will do when they get out on stage.

Katherine Jenkins is one of the few artists who could look perfectly picturesque gliding towards the Waterfront Stage at Latitude Festival.

Festival goers to Latitude put their best fashion foot forward at the Suffolk festival.

American comic Reginald D Hunter was at his offensive best despite having to perform his set from a wheelchair after breaking a leg.

With his charming good looks and energy filled set, it’s hardly surprising the comedy tent was filled with enough young girls to rival a One Direction concert.

It’s hard to believe this wry and witty comedian started out as a corporate lawyer, although then again it’s not.

Lucy Rose, Skott and Joel Dommett were among the acts to strut their stuff on Saturday afternoon at Henham Park as Latitude Festival continued.

Friday night headliners the 1975 lived up to their reputation of being beautifully weird in the set on Latitude’s main stage.

You would expect a band with more than 20 years experience to know what they are doing with a festival crowd.

Not an inch of floor space was left empty as people jostled for room when Dara O’Briain took to the Comedy stage to headline on Friday evening.

The famous pink sheep are grazing and Latitude 2017 is underway with numbers at Henham Park, near Southwold, expected to break records.

The Mystery Jets take on indie has spawned countless spin-off groups.

It’s not often you leave an early afternoon The Coral gig battered and bruised.

Having previously won the Leicester Mercury Comedian of the Year and selling out the Edinburgh Festival for the month of August, Seann Walsh managed to draw a crowd, with the Comedy Stage overflowing.

A day-long celebration of 14th century radical priest John Ball, who lived in Colchester and led the Peasants’ Revolt in 1381, will be held for the first time this year.

Suffolk’s Gillian Allard has been crowned this year’s Sky Arts Master of Photography - snapping up a life-changing €150,000.

FlipSide, East Anglia’s leading literary and arts festival based at the Snape Maltings, has launched an enviromentally-themed competition aimed at writers of all ages.

Action sculptor Kate Denton has a reputation for creating dynamic sculptures which capture the grace and beauty of movement. Arts editor Andrew Clarke spoke to her about a new series which capture humanity’s ability to risk all for greatness

Most read

Show Job Lists

Topic pages

Newsletter Sign Up

Sign up to receive our regular email newsletter
MyDate24 MyPhotos24