Partly Cloudy

Partly Cloudy

max temp: 17°C

min temp: 12°C

Search

Art & books

Sunday, October 15, 2017

Cardinal Wolsey, advisor to Henry VIII was one of the most influential figures to emerge from Suffolk. Arts Editor Andrew Clarke takes a look at a major new exhibition which brings four bronze angels from Wolsey’s tomb back to his birth-place.

FlipSide is a major literature and arts festival which links Suffolk with South America. This year the festival had Green Issues as its theme. Jackie Montague absorbed the experience.

The first ever Bury St Edmunds Literature Festival, which features best selling authors Louis de Bernieres and Helen Callaghan, is to take place later this month.

A Suffolk village is set to become the stage for a “feast of art activity” including drawing workshops and “inspirational exhibitions”.

Rising young Suffolk artist Jelly Green has created an immersive art exhibition which captures the natural splendor of the Brazilian rain forest. Arts editor Andrew Clarke spoke to her about her adventures in the Amazon.

Flipside is the bi-annual literary event that links Suffolk with South America. Arts editor Andrew Clarke speaks to founders Liz Calder and Genevieve Christie about a packed weekend.

‘Why I say no to I’m a Celebrity…’ The best-selling author on reality TV, the flooding of her dream home, terrible rheumatoid arthritis… and wild aardvarks in Norwich

Alfred Munnings is revered as one of the nation’s greatest painters of horses. Arts editor Andrew Clarke takes a look at a new exhibition which shows that he was also a man who loved life on the water.

The number of students taking arts-based or creative subjects is falling. Arts editor Andrew Clarke says we ignore these subjects at our peril because our economic future is tied up in the talent of tomorrow

Celebrate Roald Dahl Day 2017 by taking our quiz and seeing how much you know about the legendary author.

A new giant artwork in Colchester was unveiled by the Mayor Gerard Oxford on Saturday at Alderwood care home.

Shortlist is dominated by six female writers

New, musically inspired work by leading exponents in the art of lettering goes on display at Snape Maltings in September.

Oyster Community Press has teamed up with DanceEast and the National Dance Company Wales for an innovative printmaking project.

The country’s first female firefighter will be at Ipswich County Library next week for a special talk on her experiences.

More than 20,000 people are expected to flock to Felixstowe seafront next month to see the work of 120-plus artists exhibiting on the resort’s promenade.

A tattoo artist who plans to set up the first parlour in Ed Sheeran’s home town said he hoped the singer might “pop in to say hello”.

A retired agricultural engineer has discovered his inner artist at the age of 88.

A sculptor’s ceremonial farewell to the Suffolk landscape that “fed his imagination for 15 years” has come back to haunt him – after it was mistaken for a body in the water.

A summer holiday craze has brought visitors flocking to the Suffolk seaside, transforming beaches into a huge collaborative art exhibition.

A Suffolk artist’s “love for the absurd beauty of the nude form” has given a revealing perspective on some of the county’s best loved towns.

From crime thrillers and beach reads to travel memoirs and non-fiction – bookseller Meg Burrows from Ipswich Waterstones has put together a handy list of 13 books you need to read this summer.

Each summer The Suffolk Craft Society stages a showcase of homegrown talent with their annual exhibition in Aldeburgh. Arts editor Andrew Clarke is dazzled by a show that demonstrates that craft is also art.

A renowned wildlife artist will be exhibiting his latest work at the Suffolk nature reserve that has inspired many of his paintings.

Sudbury’s famous son ‘would be dynamite in polite society today’. James Hamilton’s new biography is a colourful read

Do you love Pride and Prejudice, or Emma? On the 200th anniversary of Jane Austen’s death, we ask why she’s often lauded as Britain’s favourite novelist

Giles − who gave us tetchy Grandma, grim-faced teacher Chalkie and other characters − was a complex man, according to a new book. Steven Russell reports

Fans of Mumford and Sons know what to expect from their gigs. In fact, there’s not a music lover out there that won’t know the British band will do when they get out on stage.

Katherine Jenkins is one of the few artists who could look perfectly picturesque gliding towards the Waterfront Stage at Latitude Festival.

Most read

Show Job Lists

Topic pages

Newsletter Sign Up

Sign up to receive our regular email newsletter
MyDate24 MyPhotos24