Business and political leaders from Ipswich unite to back Remain

Suffolk MPs holding campaign rally in Bury to support EU ‘remain’ vote. Suffolk MPs Matt Hancock, Th

Suffolk MPs holding campaign rally in Bury to support EU ‘remain’ vote. Suffolk MPs Matt Hancock, Thérèse Coffey, Ben Gummer, James Cartlidge and Jo Churchill, along with Vicky Ford MEP and Colin Noble, leader of Suffolk County Council, are holding a campaign day rally in Bury St Edmunds ahead of the UK’s vote on its membership of the EU this Thursday. - Credit: Gregg Brown

On the day before the nation turns out to vote on the referendum on Britain’s continued membership of the European Union, civic leaders from Ipswich have added their voice to calls to stay in.

Bosses from some of the largest companies in the town – including AXA, Ipswich Town FC, and BT – have been joined by owners of small businesses, school and college leaders, and leading figures in the arts in the town to back a Remain vote tomorrow.

The line-up was organised by Ipswich MP Ben Gummer, a keen member of the Remain campaign.

David Williams, technical director of AXA Insurance, said: “The business offers insurance services to ever-increasing numbers of customers which trade internationally.

“I believe we are stronger in Europe because it makes trade easier for their business and for AXA.”

Sarah Holmes, chief executive of New Wolsey Theatre said: “I think we should remain because the performing arts are richer and more exciting when we have good relationships with artists from Europe.”

And Jamie Willows, owner of the Rose House Butchery added: “As a small business owner in Ipswich, I want to see our town continue to prosper rather than risk another recession. That is why I believe we are stronger in Europe.”

Most Read

The full list of those supporting the Remain campaign is:

• Sir Mike Rake, chairman, BT Group

• Ian Milne, managing director, Ipswich Town Football Club

• David Williams, technical director, AXA Insurance

• Richard Lister, provost and chief executive, UCS

• Steve Oliver, chairman, MLM

• Andrew MacKenzie, managing director, Bauder

• Roger Gilles, managing director, Barefoot and Gilles

• James Rook, managing director, Sanctuary Personnel

• Viv Gillespie, principal, Suffolk New College

• Nick Weaver, headmaster, Ipswich School

• Ben Gummer, Conservative MP for Ipswich

• Vicky Ford, Conservative MEP for the East of England

• Brendan Keaney, artistic director and chief executive, DanceEast

• Sarah Holmes, chief executive, New Wolsey Theatre

• Julien Merry, director, Film Suffolk

• Cathy Frost, owner, Love One

• Jamie Willows, owner, Rose House Butchery

• Charlotte Gower, student from Ipswich

• Hannah Frost, Erasmus student

• Kim Clements, UCS student and Labour county councillor.

• David Ellesmere, leader, Ipswich Borough Council

• Alex Bowers, member of youth Parliament

• Shelly Darwin, Labour councillor

• Luke Gusman, Evolution Squared

• Sally Chicken, businesswoman

• Alasdair Ross, former soldier and Labour councillor

• Sarah Barber, nurse, Ipswich Hospital and Labour councillor

• Paul Arms, shop manager, Snappy Snaps

• Boshor Ali, chairman, Bangladeshi Support group