Full list of candidates for the Ipswich Borough Council election on Thursday, May 5 2016

Local election count underway at Corn Exchange, Ipswich

Local election count underway at Corn Exchange, Ipswich

Council seats are up for grabs in Ipswich on May 5 – the same day that everyone will be voting in the election for new police and crime commissioners.

In Ipswich a third of the council, plus one seat, a total of 17 seats, are up for grabs.

Of those, 11 are held by Labour, five by the Conservatives and one by a Liberal Democrat candidate.

It is difficult to foresee power at the council changing – Labour has a substantial majority and it would take the biggest political earthquake ever seen in the council chamber to unseat the administration this year.

See the full lists of candidates below.


Alexandra Ward:

Most Read

Adam Leeder (L)*, Chandima Perera (C), Ken Toye (LD), Barry Broom (G).

Bixley Ward:

Paul Anderson (L), John Carnall (C)*, Colin Boyd (LD), David Hurlbut (UKIP).

Bridge Ward:

Bryony Rudkin (L)*, Richard Dighton (C), Tim Lockington (LD), Charlotte Armstrong (G).

Castle Hill Ward (two seats):

John Harris (L), Annabel Mednick (L), Ian Fisher (C), Robin Vickery (C)*, Malcolm Mitchell (LD), Pippa Gordon (UKIP), Liz Smith (G).

Gainsborough Ward:

Stephen Connelly (L), Quaid Combstock (C).

Gipping Ward:

David Ellesmere (L)*, Kevin Algar (C), Conrad Packwood (LD), Shaun McDonald (G).

Holywells Ward:

Barry Studd (L), Heather Mills (C), Robert Chambers (LD), Tom Wilmot (G).

Priory Heath Ward:

Sarah Barber (L), Andy Shannon (C), Paul Grange (LD).

Rushmere Ward:

Alasdair Ross (L)*, Paul Cawthorn (C), Nick Jacob (LD), Maxwell Phillips (G).

Sprites Ward:

Colin Smart (L), Bob Hall (C)*, Gareth Jones (LD), Allan Cotterell (UKIP).

St Johns Ward:

Neil Macdonald (L)*, Jose Esteves (C), Robin Whitmore (LD), Ned Harrison (G),

St Margaret’s Ward:

Steven Reynolds (L), Steve Hardman (C), Oliver Holmes (LD), Andrew Iddon (UKIP), Kirsty Wilmot (G).

Stoke Park Ward:

Tracy Grant (L), Ben Harvey (C), Trevor Powell (LD).

Westgate Ward:

Carole Jones (L)*, Mark Felix-Thomas (C), Martin Hore (LD), John Mann (G).

Whitehouse Ward:

Glen Chisholm (L)+, David Heffer (C), Julie Fletcher (LD), Eric Pearl (UKIP), Anthony Dooley (G).

Whitton Ward:

Sophie Meudec (L)*, John Downie (C), Moira Kleissner (LD), Tony Gould (UKIP).


Suffolk County Council Bixley Division by-election:

Rob Bridgeman (L), Paul West (C), Colin Boyd (LD), Tony Gould (UKIP).



Key: L= Labour, C= Conservative, LD= Liberal Democrats, G=Green, UKIP=United Kingdom Independence Party.

*Defending councillor in the same ward.

+Current councillor fighting a different ward.