Hospital heroes recognised

HEROES from the NHS had their moment in the limelight as Ipswich Hospital hosted a glitzy award ceremony for its dedicated workforce.The Staff Awards were held at the hospital's Courtyard Restaurant yesterday and an audience of 290 guests celebrated and applauded the successes within the organisation.

HEROES from the NHS had their moment in the limelight as Ipswich Hospital hosted a glitzy award ceremony for its dedicated workforce.

The Staff Awards were held at the hospital's Courtyard Restaurant yesterday and an audience of 290 guests celebrated and applauded the successes within the organisation.

Among the winners were consultant orthopaedic surgeon Jeffrey Hallett and the team on Saxmundham Ward who won the Evening Star Patients' Award, the only category nominated by patients.

One nomination from hip replacement patient Suzan Bradbrook, 59, of Princethorpe Road, Ipswich, said: “I knew I was in safe hands with Mr Hallett.”

You may also want to watch:

Irene Ward, of Penshurst Road, Ipswich, who also had a hip replacement, said: “I could not have asked for better treatment.”

Videos of the shortlisted nominees were played on a big screen before the winners were announced.

Most Read

One of the biggest cheers of the night was saved for Bob Hanks, winner of the Volunteer of the Year Award.

Mr Hanks, 82, is a volunteer on the Westerfield Ward where he previously worked as a healthcare assistant. His nomination read: “Nothing stopped him coming in three times a week to help out where he can, making beds, taking drug charts, or collecting items from the pharmacy. His work is much appreciated by all members of the team”.

Mike Brookes, the hospital chairman, spoke to the audience about the hospital's finances, promising the debts were being reduced.

Speaking about the awards, he said: “These people represent the spirit of what is a fantastic hospital and it's a real privilege to be here. It was a great occasion for us as a whole team to recognise what our colleagues do”.

Guests at the event included MPs Chris Mole and Sir Michael Lord, Leader of Ipswich Borough Council Liz Harsant and Star editor Nigel Pickover.

Team Award

Winner - The acute medical team

Highly Commended - Ward sisters

Nominated - East Suffolk Child Development Centre, The critical care outreach team, health care assistants from Somersham Ward, Kirton Ward, Paediatric Assessment Unit

Support Team or Support Star Award

Winner - SOCS security team member Amrit Subba

Highly Commended - The Gynae, Maty and Reproductive Health Ward clerks

Nominated - Oncology porter Amanda Allerton, theatre team member Roger Damot, business manager for associate directors Di Hegarty, the human resources team, the acute medical unit receptionists, facilities manager with estates and facilities Martin Scannell

Innovative Award

Winner - Multi-Disciplinary Pre-Operative Education Group

Highly Commended - East Suffolk Child Development Centre

Leadership Award

Winner - Ear, nose and throat consultant Mahmound Salam

Highly Commended - Dr Nicola Trepte, lead consultant for the acute medical unit

Nominated - Sister Julia Alexander, Stour Centre manger Lyn Jones, Human resources team leader Heather Roberts, directorate manager for theatres and anaesthetics Wendy Webb

Improving Working Lives Award

Winner - Jonathan Harris, mentor and founder member of the hospital's Black and Minority Ethnic Communities Network

Highly Commended - Dr Ann Tate, breast radiology

Nominated - Ambassador for communication and patient and staff issues champion Gertrude Leacock

Technology Award

Winner - Cancer Services Intensity Modulated Radiotherapy Team

Highly Commended - Picture Archiving and Communications System (PACS) team

Nominated - Practice educator in critical care Susan Chatterton

Chairman's Award for People who have developed partnerships with other organisations

Winner - Osteoporosis nurse specialist Sonya Stephenson

Highly Commended - Human resources adviser Jo Wood

Nominated - Hannah Abbott and Louise Smith from the Suffolk Young Professionals Group of the Prince's Trust, sexual health team

The Evening Star's Patients' Award

Winner - Consultant orthopaedic surgeon Jeffrey Hallett and his team on Saxmundham Ward

Highly Commended - Dr Siya Sharma, specialist registrar in obstetrics and gynaecology

Nominated - Consultant breast surgeon Caroline Mortimer, nurses Debbie Ablett and Ben Parmenter, urology nurse specialist Jenny Smith, consultant gynaecology oncologist David Vasey and the consultants, nurse specialists and staff within the Stour Centre, gynaecology nurse specialist Paula Russell

Volunteer Award

Winner - Westerfield Ward volunteer Bob Hanks

Highly Commended - Stella Cobbold, occupational therapy volunteer

Nominated - Sallie Lake, orthopaedic and fracture clinic volunteer

Champion for Learning and Professional Development Award

Winner - Sister Karen Street

Highly Commended - The Spinal Team

Nominated - Tracey Hills for her work championing learning opportunities for staff

Unsung Hero Award

Winner - Kirton Ward nurse Gloria Robbins

Highly Commended - Therapy radiographer Margaret Mukerji

Nominated - Human resources manager Sharon Austin, Somersham Ward chemotherapy nurse Isobel Black, Haughley Ward renal assistant Hazel Carey, nurse Diane Chilvers, Sharon Danko and Ellie Morgan from the orthotic clinic, porter Stacey Law, human resources information manager David Everett, nurse Shawn Leach, superintendent therapy radiographer Christine Mackenzie, consultant cardiologist Dr Duncan McNab, obstetrics and gynaecology directorate co-ordinator Anne Rowles, Macmillan consultant in clinical oncology Dr Christopher Scrase, Sarah Wales from the acute medical unit

Become a Supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Become a Supporter