Much loved reindeer returns to Ipswich

RUDOLPH and his band of happy helpers are set to hit the streets of Ipswich today for the annual tour of the town over the festive period.

RUDOLPH and his band of happy helpers are set to hit the streets of Ipswich today for the annual tour of the town over the festive period.

The recognisable reindeer will tour the Bixley Drive and Australia estate tonight raising money for East Anglian Children's Hospices and the Star is Born campaign.

For the next three weeks the Santa's sleigh will tour across the town aided by several helpers collecting money.

The traditional Rudolph run has now been going for close to 38 years and has raised tens of thousands of pounds and entertained generations of children.

One of the organisers, William Coe, said: “It's a fantastic event.

“When you are running around streets for two-and-a-half hours every night and kids are coming up to you waving and telling you what they want, there is something quite magical about it.”

Most Read

Mr Coe said organisers are hoping to collect around £10,000 this year having collected around £9,500 last time round.

Tonight the sleigh will tour Bixley Drive and the Australia Estate: After meeting at The Hathlands the sleigh will start from Princethorpe Road before taking in Chilton Road, Foxhall Road, Heath Lane, Heath Road, Adelaide Road, Brisbane Road, Tasmania Road, Adelaide Road, Glenavon Road, Melbourne Road, Adelaide Road, Glenagles Drive, Claverton Way, Chatsworth Drive,

Hardwick Close, Bixley Drive, Sandpit Close, Bladen Drive, Broadlands Way, The Pastures, Newby Drive, Glemham Drive and Brookhill Way.

Are you raising money for charity this Christmas? Write to Your Letters, Evening Star, 30 Lower Brook Street, Ipswich, IP4 1AN or e-mail eveningstarletters@eveningstar.co.uk

Monday Dec 1 - Bixley and Australia estate

Tuesday Dec 2 - Chantry North

Wednesday Dec 3 - Belstead Hills

Thursday Dec 4 - Sidegate

Friday Dec 5 - Rosehill

Monday Dec 8 - Stoke Park

Tuesday Dec 9 - California

Wednesday Dec 10 - Broke Hall and Warren Heath

Thursday Dec 11 - Newcroft

Sunday Dec 14 - Woodbridge Road

Monday Dec 15 - Whitehouse

Tuesday Dec 16 - Bramford Road

Wednesday Dec 17 - Rivers

Thursday Dec 18 - Christchurch Park East

Friday Dec 19 - Christchurch Park

Become a Supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Become a Supporter