Search

Colchester rail work finished on time - but more disruption to come down the line

PUBLISHED: 12:07 04 September 2018 | UPDATED: 12:07 04 September 2018

New track being installed by Network Rail at Colchester station. Picture: NETWORK RAIL

New track being installed by Network Rail at Colchester station. Picture: NETWORK RAIL

Archant

Network Rail engineers have completed the installation of new track in Colchester station over the weekend - but there is still much more work to do on the main line to London over the autumn.

Network Rail engineers are installing new track on the Wherry Line between Lowestoft and Norwich. Picture: NETWORK RAILNetwork Rail engineers are installing new track on the Wherry Line between Lowestoft and Norwich. Picture: NETWORK RAIL

The company is also preparing to close the line between Lowestoft and Norwich for nine days from October 20-28 to allow engineers to replace track in the Reedham area.

That will also mean there are no trains between Beccles and Lowestoft on the weekends of 20/21 October and 27/28 October while signalling in the Lowestoft area is updated.

The work on the main line during the autumn will mean there are frequent bus replacements for some parts of the journey at weekends – although there are some that are clear and the work should not affect travel during the run-up to Christmas.

Network Rail says the work is necessary to upgrade track and signalling that has been in place for decades.

Full details of the main line closures with trains replaced by buses:

Saturday 8 September: Marks Tey to Ingatestone. Braintree to Witham

Sunday 9 September: Colchester to Ingatestone. Braintree to Witham

Saturday 15 September: Marks Tey to Ingatestone. Braintree to Witham

Sunday 16 September: Colchester to Ingatestone. Braintree to Witham

Saturday 22 September: Marks Tey to Ingatestone. Braintree to Witham

Sunday 23 September: Colchester to Ingatestone. Braintree to Witham

Saturday 29 September: Clear

Sunday 30 September: Colchester to Ingatestone. Braintree to Witham

Saturday 6 October: Clear

Sunday 7 October: Ipswich to Ingatestone. Braintree to Witham

Saturday 13 October: Norwich to Ipswich. Braintree to Witham

Sunday 14 October: Norwich to Ipswich. Braintree to Witham

Saturday/Sunday 21/22 October: Clear

Saturday 27 October: Clear

Sunday 28 October: Norwich to Ipswich. Braintree to Witham

Saturday 3 November: Ingatestone to London Liverpool Street. Braintree to Witham

Sunday 4 November: Colchester to London Liverpool Street. Braintree to Witham

Saturday/Sunday 10/11 November: Clear

Saturday 17 November: Ingatestone to London Liverpool Street. Braintree to Witham

Sunday 18 November: Ingatestone to London Liverpool Street. Braintree to Witham

Saturday 24 November: Ingatestone to London Liverpool Street. Braintree to Witham

Sunday 25 November: Ingatestone to London Liverpool Street. Braintree to Witham

Most Read

Most Read

Latest from the Ipswich Star

Hot Jobs

Show Job Lists