Rudolph hits the road

CHRISTMAS has officially arrived as Rudolph and his merry helpers kick-started their charity collection tour around Ipswich.

CHRISTMAS has officially arrived as Rudolph and his merry helpers kick-started their charity collection tour around Ipswich.

Everyone's favourite reindeer spent the evening touring the Bixley Drive and Australia estate, hoping to raise lots of cash for The Evening Star's the Star is Born campaign and East Anglian Children's Hospices.

Tonightit will be touring through Chantry North, starting in Campion Road, and stopping at various locations along the way, including Lupin Road, Hawthorn Drive, Pimpernel Road, Kingfisher Avenue, Robin Drive, before finishing at Greenfinch Avenue.

Mark Lewis, chairman of the Ipswich Greyfriars Round Table, donned his Santa's outfit and braved the cold along with his helpers in a bid to collect plenty of generous donations. The Mayor of Ipswich David Hale was also present at the launch of the tour yesterday at the Corn Hill.

Mr Lewis said: “We chose these causes because we think they are worthwhile. We support lots of other charities too.

“We knock on people's doors and they can give as much as they wish.

Most Read

“Last year we raised £10,000 for EACH.”

The traditional Rudolph run has now been going for close to 38 years and has raised tens of thousands of pounds and entertained generations of children.

Are you raising money for a good cause this Christmas? Write to Your Letters, Evening Star, 30 Lower Brook Street, Ipswich, IP4 1AN, or e-mail eveningstarletters@eveningstar.co.uk.

Wednesday Dec 3 - Belstead Hills

Thursday Dec 4 - Sidegate

Friday Dec 5 - Rosehill

Monday Dec 8 - Stoke Park

Tuesday Dec 9 - California

Wednesday Dec 10 - Broke Hall and Warren Heath

Thursday Dec 11 - New Crofts

Sunday Dec 14 - Woodbridge Road

Monday Dec 15 - Whitehouse

Tuesday Dec 16 - Bramford Road

Wednesday Dec 17 - Rivers

Thursday Dec 18 - Christchurch Park East

Friday Dec 19 - Christchurch Park