Will your school be closed on July 5 because of NUT strike action? List of full and partial closures in Suffolk and Essex

Stoke High School Ormiston Academy, Ipswich

Stoke High School Ormiston Academy, Ipswich

Thousands of pupils across Suffolk will be off school today after 23 schools in the county announced staff members would be involved in strike action organised by the National Union of Teachers.

Six local-authority-controlled schools will be closed for the day, as well as a handful of academies, while more than 15 schools will experience partial closures in light of the action.

Ormiston Endeavour Academy in Ipswich has stressed it remains open today and is not one of the schools which will be closed.

Last month 92% of NUT members voted in favour of walking out on July 5, with as many as 3,000 union teachers potentially joining picket lines and demonstrations.

The strike is part of a national movement by the union against continued cuts to school budgets, as well as defending national pay and conditions and calling for a national negotiating framework.

The schools confirmed to be closed so far are as follows:

Full closure:

Most Read

Ipswich: Rushmere Hall Primary School; Ranelagh Primary School; Stoke High School; St Alban’s Catholic High School

Mid Suffolk: Combs Ford Primary School; Great Finborough CofE Voluntary Controlled Primary School

West Suffolk: Riverwalk School

East Suffolk: Coldfair Green Community Primary School

Chelmsford: The Boswells School; Tanglewood Nursery School

Colchester: Kingswode Hoe School

Maldon: Heybridge Alternative Provision School; Plume School (two sites)

Partial closure:

Ipswich: Cliff Lane Primary School; Halifax Primary School; Northgate High School; St John’s CofE Voluntary Aided Primary School

Mid Suffolk: Chilton Community Primary School; Claydon High School; Claydon Primary School; Elmsett CofE VC School; Stowmarket High School

West Suffolk: Beck Row Primary School; King Edward VI School; Pot Kiln Primary School; Wells Hall Community Primary School; Westgate Community Primary School

East Suffolk: Bucklesham primary School; Bungay Primary School; Worlingham Church of England VC Primary School

Braintree: Hedingham School and Sixth Form; Howbridge CofE Academy; John Ray Junior School

Chelmsford: Chelmer Valley High School; Danbury Park Community Primary School; Hylands School; Kings Road Primary School; Margaretting CofE VC Primary School; Sandon School Academy; Springfield Primary School; St Pius X Catholic Primary School; William De Ferrers School

Colchester: Home Farm Primary School; King’s Ford Infant School and Nursery; Lexden Primary School; Montgomery Infant School and Nursery; North East Essex Additional Provision School (three sites); St John’s CofE VC Primary School; St Teresa’s Catholic Primary School; Stanway Fiveways Primary School

Tendring: Harwich and Dovercourt High School; Manningtree High School; Two Village CofE VC Primary School; Walton-on-the-Naze Primary School