Sunshine and Showers

Sunshine and Showers

max temp: 10°C

min temp: 4°C

Kings of Anglia Issue 10 Magazine Offer

Cycling: Rebecca Johnson sets the standard at East District 10

PUBLISHED: 12:06 15 June 2017 | UPDATED: 12:06 15 June 2017

Rebecca Johnson was fastest woman at the East District 10. Picture: FERGUS MUIR

Rebecca Johnson was fastest woman at the East District 10. Picture: FERGUS MUIR


Rebecca Johnson did not let breaking an elbow in an early season road race keep her out of cycling for long.

Verity Smith is the East District 10 champion as she rides for a club in the districtVerity Smith is the East District 10 champion as she rides for a club in the district

Just six weeks after her crash, Johnson put in the fastest woman’s time in the East District CA 10 mile championship – finishing in 23:25, compared to 23:36 from reigning champion Verity Smith.

These two actually shared the honours as Johnson, from Henley near Ipswich, rides for Surrey road team Aprire/HSS and will take the prize money while Smith who for rides for East District team Stowmaket and District CC takes the championship medal, which is restricted to members of EDCA clubs.

Remarkably it was Johnson’s first-ever time trial as she has so far been exclusively a mass-start road racer. She borrowed an aero-helmet for the event, while Aprire/HSS provided the time trial bike. Training while her arm was mending consisted of hours on a static turbo-trainer.

Course for the championship was the Tottenhill-Bexwell-Stradsett-Tottenhill horseshoe, just north of Downham Market, with the first four miles into a tough headwind and the final downwind miles unluckily rather more sheltered.

Mark Arnold, from Red Lodge, is the East District 10 Vets ChampionMark Arnold, from Red Lodge, is the East District 10 Vets Champion

Among the men, VeloVelocity’s Matthew Senter made good use of his detailed knowledge of the course which he often rides in evening club events.

He took the men’s championship in 20:04, beating Lloyd Chapman by 12 seconds while Harley Matthews was a further 21 seconds down.

Like Johnson, Chapman misses out on a medal as his CatfordCC/Banks team is south London based – but it mattered little to the Martlesham rider who has been concentrating on getting his weight down in preparation of a major objective – the forthcoming British Cycling Championship on the hilly roads in the Isle of Man

The Veteran TTA age standard system is designed to level out differences of age and gender. Certainly the result at Tottenhill was very close with Newmarket rider Mark Arnold (21:25) securing the top veteran medal with a “plus” of 4:48, while runner up Denise Hurren (Sole Bay Sports, 24:18) beat her standard by just three second less +4:45.

Malcolm Borg (West Suffolk Wheelers) on his way to 2i6 miles in the Newbury RC 12 HourMalcolm Borg (West Suffolk Wheelers) on his way to 2i6 miles in the Newbury RC 12 Hour

Three days earlier Lloyd Chapman scored a remarkable win in the CC Breckland/EDCA 25 Mile Sporting Circuit Championship recording staggering 52:46, knocking 1:19 off Jason Bouttell’s course record for the rough and rural Scoulton- Great Ellingham-Hingham country road circuit.

David McGaw was second in 54:15 while newcomer Ben Stancombe (King’s Lynn CC) made his mark with 56:07 for third place.

In a hot and windy Eastern Counties CA 50 near Newmarket there were age-group wins for Thetford rider Dave Green (age 50-54, 1:47:49) and David Procter (55-59) who rides for Bury St Edmunds team VeloVelocity and who finished in 1:51:14.

Both are among a star-studded field who contest the Eastern Counties CA 100 on the Newmarket bypass this Sunday

Ollie Jones (Team OnForm) was the senior winner at Round Five of the Eagles Series at Rock Barracks, chased by Liam Manser (Pedal Power Ipswich) and Josh Andrews (Morvelo).

Gary Freeman (Fast Test) took a lone win at Lotus (June 6th) winning by six seconds from Ben Howell (Strada Sport) with Tommy Power (Strada) taking the bunch sprint.

Local riders Ross Fawcett (Ipswich BC) and Gary Freeman (Fast Test) took second and third at the oddly re-named “Goodbye to Ugley” road race Ugley, Essex. Winner was James McKay (Bottechia/ Wigmore CC),

In the regional qualifying event for the National Youth 10 mile Championship - formerly the GHS 10 – top finishers were Aaron Freeman (Chelmer CC, 22:28), and Harry Wood (Maldon & District, 23:07). Richard Price (London Phoenix, 20:59) won the Senior race from Peter Harding (22:01)

Looking further afield – at the MTB National Series races in Yorkshire, Dan Howe was fifth in 40-49s and Jason Bouttell ninth in Elite. George Wood (Richardsons/Trek) won at Knesselare in Belgium, while West Suffolk Wheeler Malcolm Borg covered 216 miles in the Newbury RC 12 hour as part of his preparation for next month’s Mersey Roads Club 24 Hour.

RESULTS - East District CA 10, Tottenhill: 1 Matthew Senter (VeloVelocity) 20:04, 2 Lloyd Chapman (Catford CC/Banks) 20:16, 3 Harley Matthews (D A P CC) 20:37, 4 Ben Stancombe (King’s Lynn CC). 21:02, 5 Mark Arnold (CC Desiragear) 21:25, 6 Oliver Milk (Tri- Anglia) 21:35, 7 Paul Jay (VeloVelocity) 21:46, 8 Ben Keeley (VeloVelocity) 22:03, 9 Steven Neil (King’s Lynn CC) 22:23, 10 Paul Sparks (Ely & District CC) 22:35, 11 Lee Garrod (Sole Bay CS) 23:05, 12 Gary Matthews (Sole Bay CS) 23:14, 13 Paul Sexton (CC Breckland) 23:17, 14 = Nick Esser (VC Baracchi) 23:25, James Senter (King’s Lynn CC) and Rebecca Johnson (Aprire/HSS, 1st Woman) all 23:25.

EDCA Champions: Men: M Senter, Women: Verity Smith (Stowmarket & Dist) 23:36, Veterans: Mark Arnold.

EDCA Sporting Circuit Championship 25, Hingham: 1 Lloyd Chapman (Catford/Banks) 52:46, 2 David McGaw (Cambridge CC) 54:15, 3 Ben Stancombe (King’s Lynn CC) 56:07, 4 John Bradbury (CC Sudbury) 58:50, 5 Ben Keeley (VeloVelocity) 58:53, 6 Geoff Frost (VeloVelocity) 59:03. Women: Emma Taylor (Stowmarket & District) 1:13:21, Handicap: Simon Atherton (CC Breckland) 1:07:48 (47:01 net).

“Goodbye to Ugley” Road Race, Ugley: 2 Ross Fawcett (Ipswich BC), 3 Gary Freeman (Fast Test), 4 Malcolm Smith (Peterborough CC), 5 Alistair Gurney (CC London), 6 Thomas Willan (East London Velo), 7 Ian Perry (Velo Schils), 8 Sam Toy (Velo Schils), 9 Jack Hardwicke (Strada Sport), 10 James Ambrose-Parish (CT OnForm)

Most Read

Most Read

Latest from the Ipswich Star

Hot Jobs

Show Job Lists