Inzamam is cleared of charge

PAKISTAN cricket captain Inzamam-ul-Haq has today been cleared of the charge of ball-tampering against him - but found guilty of bringing cricket into disrepute.

PAKISTAN cricket captain Inzamam-ul-Haq has today been cleared of the charge of ball-tampering against him - but found guilty of bringing cricket into disrepute.

An International Cricket Council spokesman announced the outcome of the Inzamam's disciplinary hearing at The Oval, arising from events at the same venue when the fourth Test against England was abandoned last month.

Inzamam is to be banned, pending appeal, for four one-day internationals for bringing his sport into disrepute when he led a sit-in protest at The Oval after umpires Darrell Hair and Billy Doctrove penalised Pakistan five runs for ball-tampering.

Become a Supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Become a Supporter