Charity chief set for face to face meet

VOLUNTEERS from Felixstowe's under-threat Blue Cross centre are to voice their protests and concerns at a face-to-face meeting with the charity's chief.

By RICHARD CORNWELL Felixstowe editor>

FELIXSTOWE: Volunteers from Felixstowe's under-threat Blue Cross centre are to voice their protests and concerns at a face-to-face meeting with the charity's chief.

There has been a phenomenal response to the Evening Star's Save the Blue Cross campaign with thousands of people signing petition forms and coupons, with many also displaying posters in their businesses, homes and cars, and hundreds adding their voice in letters and on-line.

Anger and disappointment at the charity's proposals has been growing since they announced them at the end of last month.

Now its chief executive Kim Hamilton is to meet representatives of the 65 volunteers who give up thousands of man-hours every year to help the staff look after the pets at the animal welfare and adoption centre in Walton High Street.

Most Read

Ms Hamilton, along with Rachel Briggs, director of human resources, Karen Allsop, volunteer development manager, and Pauline Ivatt, volunteer co-ordinator, will meet six volunteers this week.

While the formal consultation process with staff is taking place, the charity also wants to “capture the views of the centre's volunteers”.

The meeting will be a chance for the volunteers to raise the views and concerns of centre volunteers.

Nicky Abbott, one of the volunteers who will be attending the meeting, said representatives would be keen to seek detailed answers on a number of issues.

“We are deeply concerned about the future of animals in this area because we believe other organisations will not be able to cope with the Blue Cross's workload,” she said.

“We also want to ask about their search for land in this area - what if a site could be found or an alternative plan drawn up?”

The charity, which wants to close Felixstowe to set up a new centre in the north-west because it claims this would help more pets, has promised to listen and take into account all views before it makes a final decision.

Send us your messages of support for the Save the Blue Cross campaign - write to Your Letters, Evening Star, 30 Lower Brook Street, Ipswich IP4 1AN or e-mail


Sign the Evening Star Save Our Blue Cross petition today - you can sign it in many vets and shops, and on-line or download further copies from our website and get friends, family and neighbours to pledge their support.

You can also leave your comments on-line about the closure proposal.

Display a poster in your window - collect one from the Evening Star's Ipswich and Felixstowe offices.

Write to Blue Cross chief executive Kim Hamilton at Blue Cross head office, Shilton Road, Burford, Oxon OX18 4PF.

Keith Willis, Mr P H Wittgreffe, Mrs P Hope, Mr and Mrs R H Howard, Mrs P Hope, Mr P H Wittgreffe, Jessica Colvin, Joanne Ellis, K J Fordham & R E Fordham, Beryl & Jerry O'Sullivan, Mr J Fisher, Marian Elaine Davis, Maureen Green, Peter Green, Mr H Hopkins, Mr Paul Curtis, Lynn & James Squirrell, Rosemary Barker, Rachel Noble, Mrs L Zaidi, Sophie Barker, Mr J Butcher, V Morris, Mary Ashford, Mr & Mrs Hart, Charlotte Keeble, Elizabeth Pollard, Mr J Shaw, Mrs Linda Long, Jayne Parcell, Isobel Taylor, John Taylor, Mrs Catherine McGlachie, Matthew Shum, Mr and Mrs Greene, Mrs M P Houston, I K & J F Laughlin, Mrs Helen M Bannister, Keith Northcott, M Grant, Sean Rignall, Anne Rignall, Kerry Beeston, Connor Warren, Mr N T Butley, L J Ramsey, Mrs M A Hamer, Mrs Jean Butler, Mrs D T Elliott, Mrs B Ward, Christine Beaumont, Mr Freddie Hingley, Ms Jillian Lofts, Mrs Lewis, Mr B M Brooks, Miss D Hayward, D Hayward, Mr & Mrs A Wood, Mrs P Ball, Margaret Williams, Jill Coe, Mr & Mrs Markwell, Maria McGlave, M B Robinson, D Leathley, Peggy & Sue Cook, Mrs A Mitchell, Mr G Cooke, Mike & Kay Harrison, Mrs Penelope Emmerson, Stephanie Joan Emmerson, Katy Adams, Mr M K Arnkels-Webb & Miss G Matthews, Patricia Russell, Laura Nicole Sheldrake, Mr J P Bird, P Woolston, Mr G Sturman, Vicki Sturman, Donna Canham, Mr & Mrs Ely, Mr & Mrs Scrivener, Miss K Leech, Ross Faversham, Mrs R Tricker, D M Ruff, Mrs Pat Mayhew, Yvonne Mayhew, John Mayhew, Mr & Mrs Driver, Eric & Brenda Cobb, Glenn & Pat George, S Utting and J Bloomfield, Mr N J Whife, John Whife, Mrs Rosemary Whife, Andrew Whife, G P Tonks, David Cole, Miss Martina Chandler-Blake, Mrs Shirley Woollards, Mr & Mrs Michael Barritt, Mrs S N Jackson, Joyce Miller, Sonia Eland, M Kershaw, Courtney King, Barry Wicks.