Partly Cloudy

Partly Cloudy

max temp: 10°C

min temp: 4°C

Search

Force sets up mobile police station in response to death of Ipswich teenager

PUBLISHED: 18:26 06 June 2018 | UPDATED: 13:22 14 June 2018

Police have increased patrols in the area where the attack took place and across Ipswich help reassure residents  Picture: SARAH LUCY  BROWN

Police have increased patrols in the area where the attack took place and across Ipswich help reassure residents Picture: SARAH LUCY BROWN

Archant

Police officers will be staffing a mobile police station in locations across Ipswich during June in response to the death of 17-year-old Tavis Spencer-Aitkins.

The mobile station will park up at key spots around the town over the next four weeks, with officers ready to address concerns and provide reassurance and visibility to members of the public.

Although the times for the mobile station’s visits are not set in stone, it is likely to cover daytime and early evening to ensure as many people as possible are able to access it.

Police have ramped up patrols in the area where the attack took place and across Ipswich help reassure residents.

Officers are maintaining an ongoing dialogue with community leaders to address the concerns of people living and working in the area.

Supt. Kerry Cutler for the Southern area said: “We fully appreciate that following Saturday’s tragic incident concern remains high among the community.

“The mobile station will provide a visible and roving presence to people in Ipswich over the coming weeks to ensure we continue to listen and understand concerns of the community.”

Here are the dates and locations the mobile police station will set up:

Week One

Thursday 7 June – Prospect Road

Friday 8 June – Lavender Hill

Saturday 9 June – Saturn Road

Sunday 10 June – McDonalds Tavern Street

Week Two

Monday, June 11– Hadleigh Road, Sainsburys

Tuesday, June 12– Surrey Road

Wednesday, June 13– Lupin Road/Cowslip Close

Thursday, June 14– Wells Close

Friday, June 15– Clarkson Street

Saturday, June 16– McDonalds Tavern Street

Sunday, June 17 - Dickens Road

Week Three

Monday, June 18 – Wellington St YMCA

Tuesday, June 19– Coltsfoot Road

Wednesday, June 20 – Norwich Road/Clarkson Street

Thursday, June 21– Victoria Street

Friday, June 22– Stopford Court

Saturday, June 23– McDonalds Tavern Street

Sunday, June 24– Wells Close

Week Four

Monday, June 25 – Dickens Road

Tuesday, June 26 – Lavender Hill

Wednesday, June 27 – YMCA

Thursday, June 28 – Wells Close

Friday, June 29 – McDonalds Tavern Street

Saturday, June 30 – Kelly Road

Sunday, July 1– Surrey Road

Comments have been disabled on this article.

Two knife wielding robbers threatened staff at an Ipswich convenience shop before fleeing on foot with cash and cigarettes.

Members of the public crowded round to help after a man’s foot was struck by a car in Ipswich town centre.

Don’t leave your New Year’s eve plans until last minute - see what events are happening around Suffolk with our guide.

A pub landlord who smashed a pint glass over a customer was put behind bars this week. Take a look at the others here.

Uninsured drivers in Ipswich town centre were the latest targets of a week-long crackdown led by Suffolk Constabulary.

A learner motorcyclist had their bike seized after police found they had allegedly been riding with no rear brake pads.

A busy road near Ipswich is to be closed in an emergency for the best part of a day so that a lamppost can be replaced.

The mother of a disabled woman has hailed a new disability-friendly initiative launched at The Sailmakers.

A main road into Ipswich has been ranked in the top 10 ‘riskiest roads’ in the east of England by a road safety charity.

A motorist was stopped in Ipswich after vehicle checks found the car not to have a valid MOT.

Most read

Show Job Lists

Topic pages

Newsletter Sign Up

Ipswich Star daily newsletter
Sign up to receive our regular email newsletter

Our Privacy Policy

MyDate24 MyPhotos24