Mears helps Yoxford maintain top spot

CRICKET: CHRIS Mears, one of the highest run-scorers in the Medite Suffolk Alliance, scored his first century of the current league campaign to keep Yoxford at the top of Section B.

CRICKET: CHRIS Mears, one of the highest run-scorers in the Medite Suffolk Alliance, scored his first century of the current league campaign to keep Yoxford at the top of Section B.

Mears scored 103 in a Yoxford total of 190 for six, and then Southwold were held to 126 for nine in reply (M Lincoln five for 29).

Yoxford's win earned 19 points, and helped improve their advantage over Coddenham & Grundisburgh, who picked up 18 points from a four-wicket win away to Holbrook. Craig Bloomfield (six for 24) and Adi Green (four for seven) sent Holbrook packing for just 52, although Coddenham lost four wickets in reaching their target.

Caribbeans are also in the hunt for the Section B title and they beat fourth-placed Mallards by one wicket in a close finish at The Hollies. Mallards had struggled through to 122 for three (Adam Polley 60 not out, J Durr 41) and Caribbeans just reached their target with the last pair together (Anthony Gibson 47).

Zac Rush was man-of-the-match for Worlingworth II with five for 25 and 45 not out in the four-wicket win over AXA/DBSL. Rush has been enjoying a purple patch with the bat of late – he has now scored 268 runs since he was last dismissed.

In Section A leaders Wortham were involved in a bad-tempered match against Melton St Audry's which ended with the game being abandoned after a dispute following a high full-toss which was called as a no-ball and was caught.

Most Read

John Boast, the league chairman, said last night: "We have a committee meeting in a fortnight's time when we will hear each side's version of events and then decide what action will be taken. We will take action because we can't condone this sort of action."

The next three teams in the table all lost, with Thomas Mills falling for 94 in response to a Woodbridge II total of 145 for eight. Graham Deere (three for 30) and Ian Akers (three for one) did most of the damage for Woodbridge.

Bawdsey dismissed bottom team Nacton for 92 (David Mark four for 19) only to crash to 70 all out themselves (Andy Smethurst three for 15, Malcolm Robson three for 15).

Kesgrave lost twice, falling by eight wickets away to Easton II (John Todd 62 not out) and then by 65 runs at home to Sudbourne Hall (Rob Jenkin 66).

Melton St Audry's II have taken over at the top of Section C after previous leaders Eye II lost twice. Waldringfield rattled up 182 for seven (Kevin Nunn 89) and then bowled Eye out for 108 (Ian Crane 59, Terry Baker four for 28) and next day Elmsett scored 139 for six before dismissing Eye for 105. Elmsett's N Clarke scored 63 not out and Martin Grayling took four for 24.

Mark Younghusband scored the first century on Melton's new ground in the 170-run win over his former club Halesworth, while British Telecom moved up to second place after beating Nomads by two wickets. There was quite a turnaround as Telecom slumped from 66 without loss chasing a target of just 83. M Risby took six for 18.

Felixstowe Corinthians II lost twice, to Elmsett on Saturday by just five runs and then by five wickets at Needham Market on Sunday.

The first defeat for Eye II had left Saxmundham as the last unbeaten team, but that record went on Sunday as they were dismissed for 96 by Stradbroke in Section D. Phil Courridge (three for 20) and Ian Cattermole (three for 12) did most of the damage and then Tristan Steward scored 35 to set up Stradbroke's five-wicket win.

Three wickets each for C Carey, R Singh and S Bulger helped AXA dismiss Martlesham for 88 and a 29-run win.

There was a shock in Section E as pace-setters Tattingstone III lost to bottom team Rosary Cavaliers. All seemed well as Tattingstone posted 173 for seven (D Shanks 54, Mel Phair 35, A Naunton 32) but then M Drouet responded with 83, and supported by J Baker (46) the Cavaliers got home with five wickets to spare.

Trimley had a century from Ashwin Dhir in a 137-run romp past Worlingworth III, with Ian Clarke taking three catches.

Alan Warner (61) and D Race (54) pushed the Kesgrave II total up to 172 for six and a 109-run win over Diss Mere, dismissed for 63.

* The Medite Seniors XI to play against the Osborne Seniors at Easton on Thursday (2pm) is: C Watson and D Cook (Worlingworth), F Mitchell and N Pearce (Easton), D Andrews and C Wright (Melton St Audry's), M Sargeant (Elmsett), R Abbott (Mallards), W Mugglestone (Debenham), A Barnes (Waldringfield) and J Boyles (Nacton).

Become a Supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Become a Supporter